Male music student at piano - Brighton Secondary School
Music student - Brighton Secondary School Music

Governance and Leadership

The Brighton Secondary School Governing Council meets on the first Monday of each month at 7.00pm.

The Brighton Secondary School Governing Council comprises 21 councillors, including:

  • 1 Principal
  • 15 elected parents (including 1 SIM representative and 1 SIV representative and 1 Friends of Brighton representative)
  • 3 community representatives
  • 2 student representatives
  • 3 staff representatives

Role of council:

  • To involve the school community in the governance of the school by:
    • providing a focus and a forum for the involvement of parents and the school community
    • ascertaining the educational needs of the local community and the attitude of the local community to educational developments with the school
    • ensuring that the cultural and social diversity of the community is considered and particular needs are appropriately identified
  • To set the broad direction and vision of the school
  • Strategic planning for the school including:
    • developing, monitoring and reviewing the objectives and targets of the strategic plan
    • considering, approving and monitoring human resources and asset management plans
  • Determine policies for the school including policies for the safety, welfare and discipline of students
  • Determine the application of the total financial resources available to the school including the regular review of the budget
  • Monitor and review the Services Agreement
  • Report to the school community and the Minister on:
    • the strategic plan
    • the finances of the school
    • operational plans and the council’s operations

If you have any queries or requests for information please contact the school or the Chairperson, Sue McKenzie, by phoning the school on 8375 8200 or email


Brighton Secondary School
Governing Council Members 2018
Olivia O’Neill – Principal
Sue McKenzie – Chairperson
Michaela Simmonds – Parent Member
Amanda Staples – Parent Member
Rachael Edwards – Treasurer, Parent Member
Kerry Pienaar – Parent Member
Sonya Arnott – Parent Member
Benjamin Hooper – Parent Member
Stephen Whitehead – Parent Member
Michael Sard – Parent Member
Alexis Watt – Parent Member
Sally Shearing – Parent Member
Martin Bowens – Parent Member
TBA – SIM Representative
TBA – SIV Representative
TBA – Friends of Brighton
TBA – Community Representatives (up to 3)
Cherie Morgan – Staff Representative
Nima Valamanesh – Staff Representative
Alex Witty – Head Prefect
Charlie Barwa – Head Prefect


Go to Top